Are we leaving a fatal condition untreated?

Standard

The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things...

Image via Wikipedia

Hieronymus Bosch’s The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  1 On a sabbath he went to dine at the home of one of the leading Pharisees, and the people there were observing him carefully.  In front of him there was a man suffering from dropsy. 2 Jesus spoke to the scholars of the law and Pharisees in reply, asking, “Is it lawful to cure on the sabbath or not?” But they kept silent; so he took the man and, after he had healed him, dismissed him.  (Luke 14:1-4)

Observation:  In reading the Gospel this morning, I realized that the message was not meant just for the Pharisee or the Jewish people of Jesus’ time, it was definitely meant for us.  I see that we have people hurting all around us from all forms of sin as well as all types of fatal medical conditions.  However, instead of dealing with them, we act as if that is not our job.  I am not just talking about what we do or don’t do on Sunday, but everyday.  We are killing ourselves in all different types of sin; gluttony, avarice, lust and sloth to name a few that I relate to personally.  It is not just the sin that is killing us, it is our inability to see it in our own lives and in the people we love that is killing us.  I believe Jesus is pointing out in this Gospel reading today that we need to see the condition of the man who is standing before us and cure that condition in whatever way possible, no matter what day of the week it might be.

Personification:   Gentleness   I would normally have chosen to focus on self-control after what I chose to journal on today, but I have focused on self-control a lot lately.  It is important for me today to display the fruit of gentleness today, as I go through my day trying to dispel the evil  in my life and call out evil when I see it in the world.

Prayer:  Lord, give me a gentle heart to correct the things that are wrong in my life with compassion and understanding that comes from your grace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

