For to me life is Christ, and death is gain.

Standard
My son Chad took this picture with his new camera back in March...

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For to me life is Christ, and death is gain.  If I go on living in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me.  And I do not know which I shall choose. I am caught between the two. I long to depart this life and be with Christ, (for) that is far better. Yet that I remain (in) the flesh is more necessary for your benefit.  (Philippians 1:21-24)

Observation:  I have had thoughts about when it will be my time to go and what would be the legacy that I leave behind.  However, I feel much the same way that Paul is feeling in these verses from his letter to the Philippians.  I feel like my presence is necessary for my family and my communities benefit.  I really hope that is true, because I also agree with Paul when he says that his life is Christ, but death is gain.  To be with God, in the presence of the most holy without a filter of this earthly sinfulness, would be unexplainably amazing.

Personification:  Joy  I believe it has been a while since I have chosen the fruit of joy to focus on.  It will be my intent to act with sincere joy today.  It is in the knowledge that God can overcome any sin and make us whole again, that brings me great joy today and hopefully I get plenty of opportunity to share that joy with the world today.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “For to me life is Christ, and death is gain.

  1. mom

    Sometimes it is hard to know the right thing to do. We pray and pray and still we have free will and God says I will be with you always but you decide. You say thy will be done but it is still up to you.
    The older I get the more welcoming the loving arms of the father becomes and the freedom of making my own choices and mistakes.

  2. Thanks for the commment, Mom…I guess I have finally started to see that sin is nothing more than my way of humbling myself. I hope that someday I can be free of my sinful nature, but I know that will only come when I can completely let go of my attachment to this world. Hence, why Paul says, “For to me life is Christ and death is gain”…In life we are constantly reminding ourselves of the reason why Christ died. It is only in our death when we will no longer need to be reminded or feel guilty for the suffering of Jesus Christ on the cross. Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner…Amen!

Leave a Reply

