The number is symbolic, but the multitude is not…

Standard
Depiction of a pelican with chicks on a staine...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  I heard the number of those who had been marked with the seal, one hundred and forty-four thousand marked 4 from every tribe of the Israelites:  (Rv 7:4)

&

After this I had a vision of a great multitude, which no one could count, from every nation, race, people, and tongue. They stood before the throne and before the Lamb, wearing white robes and holding palm branches 6 in their hands.  (Rv 7:9)

Observation:  John’s vision of Revelation is not supposed to be an exact science, I don’t think.  I noticed this morning in the way the reading was laid out in our first reading for Mass today, that the number that some Christians use to say there are only going to be a few people called to heaven on judgement day, is quickly followed by John’s vision of a great multitude, which no one could count.  I am not inferring that everyone will be let in, so we can go on sinning and doing whatever we want and not be concerned about the consequences of our actions.  I do believe that we do not need to think about an exact number that will be saved at the end of time, and that was not God’s intention of revealing that specific number to John in his vision.  It was meant to be symbolic, as it says in the footnotes of the NAB version of the bible I was reading from this morning.

Personification:  Generosity  It will be my focus again today to give of myself in whatever ways that God will lead me to give.  I will try to stay focused on the will of God and not my will and thereby allow his work to be done through me with the fruit of generosity clearly displayed, expecting nothing in return.

Prayer:  Lord, give me a generous heart today to not only give of my possessions but of myself with a sincerity that can only come from your grace.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

