I wonder if I missed my opportunity…

Standard
Relief of a "pelican in her piety"

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  I know indeed how to live in humble circumstances; I know also how to live with abundance. In every circumstance and in all things I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry, of living in abundance and of being in need.  (Philippians 4:12)

Observation:  As I read what Paul was saying in his letter to the Philippians this morning, I was able to say that I too have learned or at least am learning how to live in humble circumstances.  However, I was troubled by the fact that I may have squandered my opportunity to show God that I know how to live in abundance.  Paul’s point is that he was telling the Philippians that even if they were not able to support him, he could support himself.  

Personification:   Generosity  I am hearing Paul say that he could support himself, and I think that is true for me as well.  However, I feel like I must continue to learn to live with a generous heart, even in my humble circumstances, so that I will be ready to live in abundance without ever letting money become my God.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be able to display the fruit of generosity with my money today and at all times in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

