Be on your guard, not just against sin but leading others to sin…

Standard
Gospel Rock Panorama - Gibsons Landing, Sunshi...

Image by Daniel Peckham via Flickr

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.  

 

 

Reading:  He said to his disciples, “Things that cause sin will inevitably occur, but woe to the person through whom they occurIt would be better for him if a millstone were put around his neck and he be thrown into the sea than for him to cause one of these little ones to sinBe on your guard!  (Luke 17:1-3a)

Observation:  Today, the Gospel reading is telling me to not just be concerned with whether I am involved in sinful activity, but of greater concern would be whether or not my sin causes others to sin.  I have read these verses before as on causing children to sin and I have always thought about my duty as a father of three boys to make sure that they don’t repeat my sins.  However, this morning I am seeing a greater call to be a disciple of Jesus by making sure that nothing that I do, especially my sins, cause another person to sin.

Application:  Gentleness  It is my intention today to act with the fruit of gentleness today.  If I am always thinking of the impact that my actions may have on others, hopefully that will cause me to be more aware of the fact that I should be not reacting to the environment I live, but rather creating an environment that leads my family and others to better serve the Lord.

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a gentle heart that is concerned with how my attitude impacts others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

