The Kingdom of God is upon us, Jesus is here…

Standard
The Last Judgement. The Louvre.

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  For just as lightning flashes and lights up the sky from one side to the other, so will the Son of Man be (in his day).  (Luke 17:24)

Observation:  As I first read this verse, I assumed that Jesus was talking about his second coming.  As I read the rest of the 17th chapter of Luke, I realized that he was talking about the fact that after his resurrection, he would be everywhere.  Like the lightning flashes in the sky from one side to the other, he will be everywhere. 

It is not up to us to realize that the Kingdom of God is upon us, it already is, whether we accept it or not.

Personification:  Love  It is my hope that since I am receiving a reminder that the Kingdom of God is upon us, that I can display the fruit of love to other people and maybe they will be able to see more clearly that God is with them.  The clear example that Jesus gave us by dying on the cross to show his love for us, should be enough to show me that I need to be willing to do anything to show his love to others.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be able to display your love to others today.  Please help me put my selfishness aside and allow your will to be done in my life and the lives of those who are walking through this life with me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “The Kingdom of God is upon us, Jesus is here…

Leave a Reply

