Eagerly desire the greatest gifts…

Standard
St Martin de Porres

St Martin de Porres

Scripture:   Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.  And God has placed in the church first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then miracles, then gifts of healing, of helping, of guidance, and of different kinds of tongues.  Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles? 30 Do all have gifts of healing? Do all speak in tongues[d]? Do all interpret?  Now eagerly desire the greater gifts.  (1 Corinthians 12:27-31)  (NIV)

Observation:  This morning I was having a hard time with a verse from the Gospel of Luke that I read with the Mass readings for today.  So, when I got the assigned readings for my scripture journaling group today, I decided to see if there were some other verses that may be speaking to me today.  I found these because I am hearing today that I should be striving for greater gifts, as should all Christians, because if we are not striving for greater gifts than we are stagnant in our faith.  I think we all know what happens to a stagnant faith.

Application:  So today and from now on, I will work tirelessly to be able to display the greater gifts that are listed here.  I will work to be an apostle of Christ first, second a prophet, third a teacher.  I will work to have miracles performed in my life and the lives of those around me.  I will continue to work as a healer and give guidance to those that need it.  Lastly, and maybe most importantly, I will work to be able to speak other languages, so that I can meet a growing population in our church that speaks Spanish.

Prayer:  Lord, you know what I need before I ask, so it seems pointless to ask, but I will ask so others may know what I am striving to receive help from you for.  Please help me to stay vigilant always, to not only see you will for me but also to maximize every opportunity to learn from those around me the things that you would have me learn to meet the greatest gifts that you are giving me.   I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Saint Martin de Porres, pray for me…

Leave a Reply

