Here it is…the admonition against gossip!

Standard
Jesus Christ

Image by SheilaTostes via Flickr

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  We hear that some are conducting themselves among you in a disorderly way, by not keeping busy but minding the business ofothers.  Such people we instruct and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to work quietly and to eat their own food.  (2 Thessalonians 3:11-12)

Observation:  I have told some people lately that they should leave other people’s concerns to those other people, but it seems that it keeps falling on deaf ears.  However, I really felt like it had some effect when I said that it is written in the Word of God that we should not be about other people’s business.  I am thankful to the Lord for bringing me to these two verses this morning as a reminder of specifically where the Lord revealed to us in his Word to be about our need to be about own work quietly and worry about our own business.

Personification:  Gentleness  It is my hope that I am displaying the fruit of gentleness when I bring this admonition to stay away from gossip to other’s attention.  However, I am afraid that my idea of gentleness comes across like a ton of bricks sometimes.  So, I will rely on the direction of the Lord to bring this journal to the attention of the party that needs to hear it.

Prayer:  Lord, please continue to instruct me and my family in your ways and allow me to always be involved in the work that you have laid before me and not concern myself with another’s business.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

