So, what is the point of Luke’s Gospel anyway?

Standard
Fire fountain / Font de foc

Image by . SantiMB . via Flickr

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  3 For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save what was lost.”  (Luke 19:10)

Observation:  I am sure this point could be debated, but I took the title of my post today from the footnotes in the New American Bible translation of the bible I was reading in this morning.  The first reading from the Mass readings was from Revelations and the Responsorial is from Psalm 15 about not lending your money with interest.  For me, the focus from the Word this morning is on what Luke’s Gospel is saying about the role of Jesus.  It says that he is the savior of the lost.  So, there is still hope for those of us that are still wandering around lost in the world…He will seek us out, even if we are short and sinful!

Application:  Self-Control  I am certainly glad that Jesus will seek me out and save me because I have spent some time being lost lately.  It seems the more I focus on getting control of my day and my actions, the more they slip out of my control.  The trick is staying focused on the Word and knowing that God will save me from destruction, even if I am still bent on some destructive habits.  I must remember to climb the sycamore tree every day to make sure I am clearly making an effort to see my Savior.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I am not worthy of salvation.  Please help me receive your grace with a heart of repentance.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

