Why was I created?

Standard
Matthew Evangelist. The text also says - Abrah...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  3 At once I was caught up in spirit. A throne was there in heaven, and on the throne sat one whose appearance sparkled like jasper and carnelian. Around the throne was a halo as brilliant as an emerald.  The first creature resembled a lion, the second was like a calf, the third had a face like that of a human being, and the fourth looked like an eagle 7 in flight.  (Revelation 4:2-3,7)

&

1 Hallelujah! 2 Praise God in his holy sanctuary; give praise in the mighty dome of heaven.  (Psalm 150:1)

&

He replied, ‘Well done, good servant! You have been faithful in this very small matter; take charge of ten cities.’  (Luke 19:17)

Observation:  When taken together, these three readings from our daily Mass readings are telling me today that I should be focused on praising God in his sanctuary.  I hope that is my focus already, but I feel that the Lord is specifically telling me through the words of Revelation that I must stay focused on the gospel accounts of Jesus life in the Word of God, because the imagery of the lion, calf, human being and eagle represent for me the four gospels.  I want to hear those words from the Gospel reading today from Luke’s Gospel that I noted above, in reference to me, when I complete this life on earth.  I know the only way that is going to happen is if I stay true to the calling of praising God in his sanctuary.

Personification:  Faithfulness  Today, my focus is on the fruit of faithfulness because the Word is telling me to praise God in his sanctuary and that is what I plan to do.  I have been faithful to spend a good amount of time in the church, not just because I work there but because I find it important to be in the presence of Jesus as often as possible.  It just so happens that it is more possible for me to be in his presence in the Eucharist more often because of my job.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on praising you in your sanctuary as often as possible.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

