We need a prophet to make us right with God…For our time, right now!

Standard
Ary Scheffer: The Temptation of Christ, 1854

Image via Wikipedia

After attending our communion service this morning, I was left with a sense that there was something more that I needed to hear about the Gospel reading this morning…I believe the video from the daily reflections on the USCCB website was exactly what I needed to hear…So, I thought I would download it and share it with everyone here…

 Stay tuned for further reflections that I will hopefully be able to share after our scripture journaling group at lunch today…

Here are my further reflections and apology:

The men that joined me for lunch at Papa’s Pizza on Coburg Road today were subjected to the tirade that I went on about the reform that is necessary in our churches.  Honestly, I don’t know that there churches need reforming, but I can say for sure that ours does.  Anyway, I want to thank them for putting up with my loud mouth spitting about how we need to surrender to the will of God. 

So, Derek wanted to talk about how the wheat is separated from the chaff.  I related that to our first reading from our communion service this morning from the book of Revelations, that said that the scroll that revealed the truth to John about the last days would taste sour, once it reached his stomach, just like the reality of the suffering ones makes us cringe.  Bob wanted to talk about the book of Samuel and I related Hannah’s faith to how much faith we have in our lives versus the saints of the past.  Kevin mentions the temptation of Christ and I am thinking about how we don’t need to be tempted because we would choose sin over good deeds anyway. 

I am going to try and tag the men with this post as my way of saying, “I’m sorry for dominating the group today.”  I love you guys and I don’t know how I am going to get through next week without you…Seriously!

GOD BLESS YOU!

Leave a Reply

