Are you one of the witnesses?

Standard
Woodcut for "Die Bibel in Bildern", ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  I will commission my two witnesses 3 to prophesy for those twelve hundred and sixty days, wearing sackcloth.  (Revelation 11:3)

Observation:  This morning, as I was reading the first reading, I was left with the distinct impression that John was being shocked into seeing the prophetic message in a way that he couldn’t forget it.  Luckily for John, he was living a life that was in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, therefore he was not being shocked by his own actions, like I believe I am at times.  Rather, the Lord revealed to him the future that included all of us, in my opinion, doing the will of the Father by being witnesses to the Word of God.

Personification:  Joy  The objective of my actions today will be to display the fruit of joy that comes from the grace that I receive from God.  It is not a result of anything that I did right, for sure.  Rather, it is a result of a loving God who knows that I am capable of so much more, if he gives me the grace to achieve it.

Prayer:   Lord, please allow my joys and sufferings today to all go toward the objective of humbling me and allow me to act only in your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

