Saying that the end is near, will not make it come any faster…

Standard
Icon Apocalypse

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  He answered, “See that you not be deceived, for many will come in my name, saying, ‘I am he,’ and ‘The time has come.’ 3 Do not follow them!  (Luke 21:8)

Observation:  After reading the first reading this morning from the book of Revelation, it would have been easy to get caught up in the idea that I wonder if  the last judgementis near.  However, when I read the gospel reading for today’s Mass readings, I was left with the distinct impression that even if God himself revealed to me the exact date when the end of the world would come and the final judgement would come down on the earth, it would be considered a false teaching for me to proclaim this personal revelation.  The truth is that the Word of God has already said enough for anyone to know that they should repent and believe in the salvation story of Jesus Christ.  If they don’t repent and believe, it is because they are choosing to be ignorant to the truth or prideful about their own understanding of the truth. 

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is my hope that I am able to display the fruit of faithfulness in my life.  I would hate to think that I am preparing for his eventual second coming, only to find out that I was ignorant to the truth that was clearly revealed to me in the Word of God.  I hope that God supplies me with the grace necessary to know the difference between false preaching and the truth that comes from his Word.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to lead me in your ways everlasting.  Please help me to stay on guard against false prophets and those that would distort the truth for their own gain.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

