Whose generation is Luke talking to?

Standard
Kingdom of God.

Image by nick kulas via Flickr

Gift: With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading: Amen, I say to you, this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. (Luke 21:32-33)

Observation: It was quite strange reading the gospel this morning after the first reading because I was confused for a second about whether it was John’s vision that Luke was talking about here or his own memory of Jesus’ prophecy that he just told earlier in the chapter. Once I got it all sorted out in my head, I was still left with the question of whose generation is Luke talking about in this 32nd verse of the 21st chapter of his gospel. I am sure I could look up the etymology of the word generation or realize that in the root word he meant all generations, but I would rather look at this gospel reading this morning as I believe God intended for me, he is talking to me and my generation. As he has done for every generation that has passed for about 2000 years since Luke wrote his gospel, he is talking directly to my generation. We see the signs of the end coming, as they have since the coming of the Kingdom of God on earth. I am left with the question of if he is talking to my generation, what is our response going to be?

Personification: Kindness It is my focus today to display the fruit of kindness to everyone that I come in contact with, both at the Gravy Bowl and the parking fundraiser for the Knights of Columbus later. I will try to battle hard to follow the will of God in my life, but I will do so with the kindness that flows from the grace that I receive as a free gift from our savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

Prayer: Lord, help me to keep your word in my mind and on my lips and in my heart today. Please help those people without food and shelter to find food and shelter for their families, and show me new ways that I can fulfill your mission by helping them myself. I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit. Amen.


Leave a Reply

