The word of Christ is preached through the whole world…Are we listening?

Standard
~apostle's way~

Image by theroamincatholic via Flickr

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  But I ask, did they not hear? Certainly they did; for “Their voice has gone forth to all the earth, and their words to the ends of the world.”  (Romans 10:18)

&

He said to them, “Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men.”9 At once they left their nets and followed him.  (Matthew 4:19-20)

Observation:  This morning, I read the readings and was not immediately given a verse or verses to journal on.  It may be that I am letting my mind be distracted this morning, or that the message that I need to hear from today may come from some other scripture that I will read later this morning.  Anyway, I still feel like the message that somewhat is coming through to me today is that the gospel is going to the world now, and in it we are still given our free will to accept it or not.  I want my choice to be to follow Jesus completely.  I want to leave my fishing nets behind and  become a disciple of the Messiah.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It is my intention to act purposefully in the way of the Lord.  It is no longer my intention to look back on where I have been and wonder what could have been.  The real gift of myself comes when I abandon the old ways and completely surrender to the way of the Lord.  It has taken the gift of grace to get me this far and it will take a continued gift of his grace to see this work through to completion.

Prayer:  Lord, I know the plans you have for me and I am willing to surrender my life to your guiding hands.  Please help me to accept your will for me in all things that I do.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

