The feeding of the four thousand, just a glimpse of what is to come…

Standard
The New Jerusalem

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  2 On this mountain the LORD of hosts will provide for all peoples A feast of rich food and choice wines, juicy, rich food and pure, choice wines.  3 For the hand of the LORD will rest on this mountain.  (Isaiah 25:6,10a)

&

Then he took the seven loaves and the fish, gave thanks, 14 broke the loaves, and gave them to the disciples, who in turn gave them to the crowds.  They all ate and were satisfied. They picked up the fragments left over–seven baskets full.  (Matthew 15:36-37)

Observation:  So, after reading the footnotes from the reading from the book of Isaiah I see that the mountain that the prophet was speaking about was the mountain of Zion, or the heavenly Jerusalem.  In me, this reading evoked a sensory response to the idea of the rich foods and the choice wines.  The imagery that the writer of this book uses gives us a glimpse of how awesome it would be to be in the presence of God in the heavenly Jerusalem.  Furthermore, in the gospel reading for today, we see that with God it is not about what you have, it is about what the needy people need.  By that, I mean that Jesus was not moved by the fact that he had seven loaves and three fish to perform a miracle that would make the people aware of who he was.  He was moved by the fact that there were many people present who were in need and  he performed a miracle to provide for them.  In doing this, I think Jesus was giving us an idea about the Eucharist, of course, but maybe just as important was the fact that he was giving us an idea that with God the needy will always be provided for.  This should be our calling now, and it should be a reminder of what is to come in the next world that no one will be left without.

Personification:  Love  If I am going to be able to display the fruit of love to others, I will have to seek out ways in which I can be of service to them, not only in my church but also outside of the church.  I will rely on the grace of God to move me to help in the ways that will be in line with his will for me to love others in the same way that he loves me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see the people in need in my community and help me to find ways that I can help them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

