Trust in the LORD forever! For the LORD is an eternal Rock. (Isaiah 26:4)

Standard
reading the gospel of matthew

Image by khrawlings via Flickr

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  12Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock.”  (Matthew 7:24)

Observation:  It is my intention to focus on the positive part of the message today.  I believe that I have spent enough time reinforcing the negative consequences of my past actions.  Therefore, I will focus my attention on what my house will look like when I am solely directed at doing the will of the Father.  I hope that I am on my way to accomplish it with the grace that continues to cover me from the Lord.  I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work in you will continue to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus. 5  (Philippians 1:6)

Personification:  Patience  I will make it my intention of this day to work on making my life a more concrete example of the fruit of patience.  It is very clear to me that it will take almost a miracle in my life to allow me to be able to display this fruit of patience, because of the place that I started.  Again, I know that it is God’s will for me, so I will act intentionally to be able to display this fruit.

Prayer:  Lord, I pray that you would allow me to show the fruit of patience that you have built in me today.  I know that I still have a long way to go to have the patience that you will for me, but I would hope that I could at least display some of what you have built in me, at least in regards to patience.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

