I understand free will, because I am a sinner, but if God calls you, how can you say no?

Standard
Woodcut for "Die Bibel in Bildern", ...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  23 Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is abundant but the laborers are few; so ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest.”  (Matthew 9:37-38)

Observation:  I started out this morning thinking about all the young people who are presently being called to consecrate their life to the Lord.  Then it hit me, we are all called to live our lives as disciples of Jesus Christ.  We make a commitment to that at our Baptism.  So, when I read these two verses again, I see that God is calling all of us to be laborers for his harvest.  With that in mind, how can I or anyone say no?  Do we say, just let me have a little sinfulness in my life for a little while, I promise I will give it up when your call for me gets serious. 

Personification:  Self-Control  I have always looked at self-control as a fruit that I need to work on when I have a schedule to keep.  However, this morning I am seeing that I need to be about displaying this fruit of self-control in my life, if I am going to stay on the path that the Lord has set out before me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to align my will to your heavenly will for me, so that I can take an even more active role in preparing for the harvest.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

