The scriptures give us hope…At least some of us!

Standard
Jean-François Millet's depiction of winnowing

Jean-François Millet's depiction of winnowing

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For whatever was written previously was written for our instruction, that by endurance and by the encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope.  (Romans 15:4)

&

9 His winnowing fan is in his hand. He will clear his threshing floor and gather his wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.”  (Matthew 3:12)

Observation:  In the second reading for today’s Mass, I see Paul saying that it is the scripture that should give us hope to understand the salvation story.  In the gospel reading, John the Baptist is saying that the Pharisees and the Sadducees should not be coming to him, because they don’t deserve a warning of their impending doom.  The same can be said of us, we do not deserve a warning of our impending doom.  I feel like I should have hope that when Jesus sifts the wheat and the chaff, there will be something that gives me substance to fall to the ground.  I fear, however, that without the grace of our Lord, I will be the chaff that gets burned in the unquenchable fire.

Personification:  Faithfulness  For once, this morning I am seeing that the fruit of faithfulness does not come from my understanding.  It comes as a result of years of grace that I have received from the Lord.  It is my hope that by staying close to the Word always, this grace will continue to cover me with the faithfulness that I am choosing to display today.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my hope today to display the fruit of faithfulness.  You know my heart and mind better than I do, so help me with all the grace necessary to be able to be faithful.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

