Following God leads to prosperity…

Standard
deliver us from evil

Deliver us from evil...

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Thus says the LORD, your redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: I, the LORD, your God, teach you what is for your good, and lead you on the way you should go.  (Isaiah 48 :17)

&

3 Rather, the law of the LORD is their joy; God’s law they study day and night.  (Psalm 1:2)

&

To what shall I compare this generation? 11 It is like children who sit in marketplaces and call to one another, ‘We played the flute for you, but you did not dance, we sang a dirge but you did not mourn.’  (Matthew 11:16-17)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning that not only am I doing what God expects of me by studying the Word of God, but I can be sure that what he leads me to is what he wants for me.  As long as I am not making a free choice to not follow the will of God, I can be sure that I am following the direction that he is giving me.  Along these lines, I can be sure that I am not allowing myself to be dominated by anything except the will of the Father, as long as what I concentrate on is not in contrast to his will for me.

Personification:  Joy  It is my hope that I can see clearly the way to display the fruit of joy that comes from following the Word of God.  Yesterday was an amazing example of how the Word showed me that I was on the right path to aligning my life with his will.  It is my intention to continue to show this joy to others in a way that bring to light the Word’s power and not my own.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the joy that comes from your Word and remind me often of my sinful nature so that I will be able to share your good news with more people.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

