How awesome are you, ELIJAH! Whose glory is equal to yours? (Sirach 48:4)

Standard
The Power of Christ?!

The Power of Christ?!

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  12 Then the disciples understood that he was speaking to them of John the Baptist.  (Matthew 17:13)

Observation:  Obviously, the first reading affected me enough for me to pick the verse I did for the title of my post for today.  It was the greater context of the story of John the Baptist and his life as it relates to Jesus and his disciples that I wanted to journal about today though.  Jesus is telling his disciples, of which I hope I am one, that we should see John the Baptist as the return of Elijah.  As we heard in the first reading, Elijah was a pretty awesome prophet of God who restored all of Israel‘s twelve tribes.  John the Baptist was sent to restore Israel before Jesus’ first coming.  Jesus said that the smallest in his kingdom are greater than John the Baptist, so I see Jesus saying to us that it is our job to bring the good news to the world to prepare for Jesus’ return.

Personification:  Gentleness   As much as I hear the Word telling me that I must be on the street corner telling the world to repent, because the Son of God is returning, I know that it has been tried already and nobody was listening.  However, I do hear the Word telling me to make an example of my life and speak to others about the kingdom with the fruit of gentleness that comes from the grace of God, and people will listen.

Prayer:  Lord, I am hopeful that you will continue the work that you have begun in me and help me see your will for me in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

