Am I speaking with authority, or just asking for more guidance?

Standard
the Gospel of Matthew

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  The utterance of one who hears what God says, and knows what the Most High knows, Of one who sees what the Almighty sees, enraptured, and with eyes unveiled:  (Numbers 24:4)

&

Guides the humble rightly, and teaches the humble the way.  (Psalm 25:9)

&

18 When he had come into the temple area, the chief priests and the elders of the people approached him as he was teaching and said, “By what authority are you doing these things? 19 And who gave you this authority?”  (Matthew 21:23)

Observation:  As I read the readings this morning, I was not initially moved to comment on them at all.  However, after I went to communion service in Spanish this morning, I felt compelled to write how I heard the Lord speaking to me through his Word.  The first reading I heard speaking about the Messiah and the authority that he has that comes from his Father.  For me, I hope that Jesus will continue to unveil my eyes to the truth, so that I can enraptured for years to come.  If I act with humility, I can count on the teaching to continue to come to me from above.  In the Gospel, I hear Jesus being questioned in the same way that I am sure people question my authority in the church.  If I stay focused in the Word, then I can count on being able to speak with the authority that comes from Jesus.

Personification:  Self-Control  I will stay focused today on displaying the fruit of self-control in all areas of my life.  Especially as it relates to chastity in my marriage.  I believe it is good to act intentionally in the direction of letting go of my sinfulness and offering up my sinful nature to God in favor of his will for me, which is always good.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to build in me a spirit of compliance, so that I can better organize my will and schedule around your will and what you have planned for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

