Jesus is continuing the theme on what we should have learned from John the Baptist today…

Standard
Jesus and John the Baptist

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  25 When John came to you in the way of righteousness, you did not believe him; but tax collectors and prostitutes did. Yet even when you saw that, you did not later change your minds and believe him.  (Matthew 21:32)

Observation:  I will try to give a glimpse of the thoughts that are racing through my mind this morning.  I am seeing that Jesus is admonishing the Pharisees for not believing John the Baptist but more importantly he recognizes that the other, more serious sinners, did believe him and repented.  As I read the footnotes on this verse, I realized that it was Jesus’ association with those sinners, along with John’s call to repentance, that allowed him to be able to be their salvation. 

Personification:  Love  I know my own personal sinful nature, but I have yet to see how my association with sinners could be beneficial to them.  Perhaps, it is because I have not yet received the grace necessary to be able to be among the more serious sinners or God is already using me in ways that I don’t even realize and may never realize until he reveals them to me.  Anyway, I will do my best to display the fruit of love to everyone that I come in contact with today.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my hope that you will give me the grace to be able to bring your Word to all parts of this world through this medium and whatever other medium that you may be preparing for me to take part in.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “Jesus is continuing the theme on what we should have learned from John the Baptist today…

Leave a Reply

