Rather than repeat last Thursday’s journal…Read the gospel reading for yourself…You decide…

Standard
Angels in the Rain

Image by Jakes_World via Flickr

Last Thursday’s journal…Should I have journaled about the same topic?

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Fear not, you shall not be put to shame; you need not blush, for you shall not be disgraced. The shame of your youth you shall forget, the reproach of your widowhood no longer remember. 2 For he who has become your husband is your Maker; his name is the LORD of hosts; Your redeemer is the Holy One of Israel, called God of all the earth.  This is for me like the days of Noah, when I swore that the waters of Noah should never again deluge the earth; So I have sworn not to be angry with you, or to rebuke you. Though the mountains leave their place and the hills be shaken, My love shall never leave you nor my covenant of peace be shaken, says the LORD, who has mercy on you.  (Isaiah 54:4-5,9-10)

Observation:  The message of last Thursday’s journal would have been easy to repeat today, because the gospel reading today from Luke’s gospel is even more clear about the least in the Kingdom of God being greater than John the Baptist.  However, when I read the first reading today I was moved to pass along the message that I am hearing.  The message is that no matter you are going through today, know that God is going to bring you through it and even if it has seemed in the past that he has forgotten you, there is a reason that you had to endure your suffering.  We can be sure that his love will never leave us, no matter what pain or suffering we endure in this life.

Personification:  Generosity  I will attempt to display today the fruit of generosity that comes from the grace of God.  I know I have little to offer, but what little I have to offer I will try to give of it freely to those in need.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of generosity today.  Please show me the ways in which I can give of myself to others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “Rather than repeat last Thursday’s journal…Read the gospel reading for yourself…You decide…

Leave a Reply

