All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for refutation, for correction, and for training in righteousness…(2Timothy 3:16)

Standard
The Nativity of St. John the Baptist

The Nativity of St. John the Baptist

Scripture:  1 2 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was in the beginning with God.  (John 1:1-2)

&

And the Word became flesh 9 and made his dwelling among us, and we saw his glory, the glory as of the Father’s only Son, full of grace and truth.   (John 1:14)

Observation:  Initially, I was moved by the verse about John the Baptist‘s denial of his being Elijah, but I found a blog from a much more qualified source than me to discuss this question. Msgr. Charles Pope discusses John the Baptist’s denial of his being Elijah here, better than I ever could.  However, I chose the verses above because of my focus for the last couple of years specifically on the Word as he is revealing himself through scripture.  I have come to the conclusion that it is the simple fact that the Word became flesh and then left us the scriptures to feed us until he returns again, along with the other ways that he makes himself present to us in this world. 

Application:  It is only by staying in the Word that I can be sure that the Word is in me.  I want to be a messenger of the Word, by the grace of God, that comes to me as a free gift of revelation.  The church has never disputed the fact of scripture being the Word of God, but it seems that the traditions of the church seem to take precedence over it at times.  I will continue to focus my attention on the Word and I am sure that the tradition of the church will spring forth from the truth that is found in scripture.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to help me find my way through this life by revealing your path to me through your Word that comes through the scriptures with the inspiration of your Spirit.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for refutation, for correction, and for training in righteousness…(2Timothy 3:16)

  1. Matt

    One thing to remember is that “the Word” is not restricted to the written word — ie, Christ, the “logos”, is not restricted to the Bible. The Logos is far more than the Bible.

    That’s an important point to your conclusion that only by staying “in the Word” we can ensure that “the Word in is in us”. As we look at Scripture, we need to do so prayerfully, inviting the Holy Spirit to guide us.

    If we leave the guiding to ourselves, we’ll get it wrong. There’s a lot of that in the world.

    • Love the reminder Matt…I meant that Jesus is present in other things than just Scripture, in my observation about the tradition of the church…Your reminder to make sure that we are guided by the holy Spirit is a good one…Too often, we forget to be guided in our spiritual lives, because we assume God is present because we are choosing to place ourselves in his presence…The truth is that we would not even be there without the grace of God, God bless you brother!

      Jason

Leave a Reply

