The most important verse in the New Testament…my opinion, of course!

Standard
Prayer Of Saint Francis

Image by zenera via Flickr

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  6 Now this is how the birth of Jesus Christ came about. When his mother Mary was betrothed to Joseph, 7 but before they lived together, she was found with child through the holy Spirit.  (Matthew 1:18)

Observation:  To me, there is nothing else that is important that happens in the New Testament of the Bible unless this happens.  First, I was thinking about concentrating on the betrothal and talk about maybe that is part of what we are missing in our modern world of quick marriages and quick divorces.  However, it dawned on me that had it not been for another divine inspiration to Joseph, this arrangement would have ended in divorce.  So, I chose to concentrate on the fact that this simple verse at the beginning of Matthew’s Gospel is the basis for our salvation story which makes up the rest of the New Testament.

Personification:  Peace  It is only by realizing that everything that I have is a gift of God, that I can truly act with the fruit of peace in my life.  Peace will only come when I do not possess anything and I consider it a gift to just be breathing today, much less own a house to shelter my family and a car to drive to work and church.  Not only possessions, but also the gifts of knowledge of the Word of God does not come to me because of my supreme intelligence. (LOL!)  Rather, what I know is a gift of the grace of God and hopefully that will cause me to act with peace when discussing scripture or tradition in the church.

Prayer: (Prayer of Saint Francis)

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love.
Where there is injury, pardon.
Where there is doubt, faith.
Where there is despair, hope.
Where there is darkness, light.
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

 

I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

