The Lord is saying for you to ask for anything…It will be done, if you believe!

Standard
Igreja de São Roque: Chapel of Our Lady of Piety

Chapel of Our Lady of Piety

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  5 Ask for a sign from the LORD, your God; let it be deep as the nether world, or high as the sky!  (Isaiah 7:11)

Observation:  As I read the first reading this morning, I was struck by how Ahaz could be told by the Lord himself to ask for a sign, and he shrugs it off as if he knows better than the Lord.  Two notes, we are not Ahaz and we are not like the chosen people of Judah,although there may be a few similarities.  However, we are the people who have been called to serve the Lord and he has told us that whatever we ask for in his name, we should receive.  I think that sometimes I am like Ahaz, because I think that my idea is better than the Lord’s.  That should sound crazy, but I think that we all do it.  Whether we think that we are not worthy of God’s love or we just think that we are not important enough for God to concern himself with us, we need to see that God loves each one of us regardless of our background.  He sent his Son to save us as sinners and that is evidence of the fact that he will listen to every request that we make of him as believers.

Personification:  Faithfulness  I will try to put on display the fruit of faithfulness today by asking the Lord for everything that I need with the full knowledge that I will receive it before I ask.  As deep as the netherworld or as high as the sky, I will remember that God will continue to provide for me and my family whatever we need in miraculous ways, if we only stay faithful to him.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay faithful to you by asking you for whatever I need.  Please allow me to see the will you have for others before my own today and act in accordance with your will.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

