May it be done to me according to your word?

Standard
Coronación de la Virgen, óleo sobre lienzo. 17...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Mary said, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.” Then the angel departed from her.  (Luke 1:38)

Observation:  As I was setting up the page on Microsoft Word this morning to print out the readings for those of us that don’t understand Spanish well enough to follow the readings this morning that will be in Spanish.  I noticed that MS Word wanted a question mark at the end of the sentence in the middle of this verse of scripture.  It made me ask, why is there no question mark at the end of this sentence?  The answer came quickly.  It is because it is a statement of her faith that she is saying that she is giving permission to God to perform this miracle through her.  She knows it can be done, she is only consenting her will, that it will be done according to the will of the Father.

Personification:  Joy  I will attempt to follow the example set by Mary in her consenting to let the Father’s will be done through her, and display the joy that comes from this consent.  I think too often we see that to follow God’s will, we have to be downtrodden and sullen-faced all the time.  We are offered a similar miracle in the Eucharist, where God offers to come into our bodies in the form of bread and wine by the power of the holy Spirit.  My statement should be similar to Mary’s, “May it be done to me according to your word!”  The angels in heaven will resound with joy and so should I.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to show your joy to others today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

