What if Mary and Hannah said, “He’s my son too, I don’t want him to be offered up to the Lord.”

Standard
Sandro Botticelli, Magnificat, 1480-81, temper...

Sandro Botticelli, Magnificat, 1480-81

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  Now I, in turn, give him to the LORD; as long as he lives, he shall be dedicated to the LORD.” She left him there  (1 Samuel 1:28)

&

And Mary said: 16 “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord  (Luke 1:46)

Observation:  Once Samuel is born and has already shown himself ready to be offered to the Lord, Hannah takes him to Eli to begin his instruction.  It is then that you see in the following chapter to the one chosen for today’s first reading, that Hannah exults the Lord for his greatness.  Mary on the other hand is moved to exultation before the child Jesus is even born, and makes a similar exultation to what Hannah said.  Whether or not the author of Luke’s gospel added the Magnificat to this meeting or not, it is clear that Mary was going to offer this child to the Lord from the beginning.

Personification:  Faithfulness  It was a toss-up for me to either focus on the fruit of generosity or faithfulness today.  Since, it is my opinion that all of our children belong to the Lord in the first place, it would seem quite disingenuous to say that I would be acting out of generosity to offer my children to the Lord.  Therefore, I am going to try to display the fruit of faithfulness today by offering my children to the Lord.  It is by his grace that we have them, so it is by his grace that I would like to offer them to him, as I would like to continue to offer myself.

Prayer:  Lord, it will be my child’s decision whether to follow their calling to you or not, if you call them.  For my part, help me to stay faithful to you by supporting them in any way that I can.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

