It is Elijah’s coming that turns a father’s heart to his children…

Standard
Infant Jesus and John the Baptist, Museo del Prado

Infant Jesus and John the Baptist, Museo del Prado

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  6 To turn the hearts of the fathers to their children, and the hearts of the children to their fathers, Lest I come and strike the land with doom. Lo, I will send you Elijah, the prophet, Before the day of the LORD comes, the great and terrible day.  (Malachi 3:24-23)

Observation:  As the title of my post for today’s journal says, it is Elijah’s coming, in the person of John the Baptist, meant to turn the father’s heart to his children.  As it also says in the 24th verse, the hearts of the children are to turn to their fathers as well.  I am hearing today that we should see that God is sending us our redemption in our children before he sends us his own Son, if we would only see the opportunity to repent that exist in our children and in our own relationship with our earthly father.  Granted, we have the awesome power of his Son that we will celebrate the birth of in two short days to remind us of the ultimate relationship of Father to Son, and the forgiveness for all of our past mistakes in our own relationships to help us, by his Son’s final sacrifice on the cross.

Personification:  Love  It is the fruit of love that I will try to display through my relationships with my children today and do my best to show this love to my father, who is so far away from me today. 😦 

Prayer:   Lord, help me to see the opportunities that you put before me today to show your love to my family and other people who you bring in my path.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

