What a Christmas present this is…Blessed are those who fear the Lord and walk in his ways. (Psalm 128:1)

Standard
Children in Jerusalem.

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.  

 

   

Reading:  For the LORD sets a father in honor over his children; a mother’s authority he confirms over her sons.  He who honors his father atones for sins; he stores up riches who reveres his mother.  He who honors his father is gladdened by children, and when he prays he is heard.  He who reveres his father will live a long life; he obeys the LORD who brings comfort to his mother.  (Sirach 3:2-6)

&

Like a fruitful vine your wife within your home, Like olive plants your children around your table.  (Psalm 128:3)

&

Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord.  (Colossians 3:20)

Observation:  In the first reading, the responsorial psalm and the second reading today, I heard that the Lord is interested in giving us a happy home if we only follow his commands for us.  The Lord tells us of the rewards for honoring our parents in the first reading.  I see a beautiful picture that is painted of a loving family that is rooted in the truth in the responsorial psalm.  Finally, of course, I love the idea of children obeying their parents talked about in the second reading.  This verse, is not to be taken out of context of course, because Saint Paul says this only after admonishing everyone, including parents to be full of compassion, love, humility and forgiveness.

Personification:  Patience  I hope to be able to display the fruit of patience with my family today.  If I could only keep in my mind how much patience the Lord has had with me, hopefully I will see how to be patient with my family.  Of course, if you read the second reading, Saint Paul mentions kindness, gentleness and love as well as the other fruits that I wrote about just above.  It is important to keep all of these fruits of the Spirit in mind when trying to live out what God is calling me to.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that I choose to focus on one or two fruits of your Spirit every day, but please help me to better display all the fruits of your Spirit in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

