How can I be like Saint John?

Standard
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Of course, it is about Saint John!)

Reading:  We are writing this so that our joy may be complete.  (1 John 1:4)

Observation:  The first reading begins with the realization of the fact that the apostles were witnesses to the incarnation.  Rather than lamenting about how I was not there, I chose to fous on how I could enjoy the same relationship Saint John had with Jesus.  If I stay close to Jesus in the Word and continue to receive him in the Eucharist, I can be just as close to him as John was, at least mentally.  I will rely on the grace of God to spiritually bring me close to Him. 

Personification:  Joy  I would hope that my joy is coming through in my writing about the way the word is impacting my life.  It is only by staying faithful to the Word in my journaling and staying connected to my community that I stay close to Jesus.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Lord, send down your Spirit to keep me from temptation.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

