Am I a friend of Jesus?

Standard

Mary and Jesus
Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  If we say, “We have fellowship with him,” while we continue to walk in darkness, we lie and do not act in truth.  If we say, “We are without sin,” we deceive ourselves, 3 and the truth is not in us.  If we acknowledge our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from every wrongdoing.  (1 John 1:6,8-9)

Observation:  It is important for me to see this morning that I should not be walking in darkness.  I believe that this means for me that I should not continue in the same old habits of sinful behavior.  It is not that I will ever be able to overcome sin in my life, but I know that with the grace of God, it will be at least kept at bay while I am at the Lord’s work.  It is the simple fact that I know my sinful nature that tells me to rely on the grace of God to keep me from sin.

Personification:  Self-Control  I think that I need to see the fruit of self-control as time management again.  It is only by using all of my time wisely that I can be sure that I am doing the will of the Father, or at least making myself available to be used by him.  The display of the fruit of self-control for me will look like a well thought out day planner, with time to make sure I am in right relationship with the Lord.

Prayer:  Our Father, who is in heaven.  Holy is your name.  Your kingdom come.  Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread.  Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.  Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 







Leave a Reply

