A moment with God and Chad this morning…

Standard
Wadi Rum, the "Seven Pillars of Wisdom&qu...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading: 5 I am writing to you, children, because your sins have been forgiven for his name’s sake. 6

I am writing to you, fathers,
because you know him who is from the beginning.

I am writing to you, young men,
because you have conquered the Evil One.

I write to you, children,
because you know the Father.

I write to you, fathers,
because you know him who is from the beginning.

I write to you, young men,
because you are strong and the word of God remains in you,
and you have conquered the Evil One.

Do not love the world or the things of the world.
If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
For all that is in the world,
sensual lust, enticement for the eyes, and a pretentious life,
is not from the Father but is from the world.
Yet the world and its enticement are passing away.
But whoever does the will of God remains forever.

Observation:  I awoke this morning to my oldest child retelling me a nightmare that he had last night.  It involved him seeing God say “Hi” to him and then he didn’t see him anymore and a lot of test tubes.  I struggled with how I would explain the dream to him and asked him why he was so afraid.  I told him to remember what our Pastor said a couple of weeks ago, which was that his favorite phrase from the Word of God is “Do not be afraid.”  He said he wanted to stay with me as I journaled, so I went and made my coffee, said my morning prayers and then sat down to journal in his room.  I asked him if I could read the first reading to him out loud and he consented.  I don’t know if I need to say this or not, but I was blown away by what the God revealed to us in the first reading today.  After reading the gospel reading to him, he asked how they got the stories from the Bible, and I explained that when something miraculous or important happens in your life, you remember it.  I told him it was like what happened to him this morning, by the Word of God speaking directly to his situation, it would be something he would remember and then tell the story later.  If the story was profound enough, like the stories about Jesus’ life, someone would eventually write them down and they could be retold for centuries to come.  Hmmm!

Personification:  Gentleness  It is only by displaying the fruit of gentleness that I can get through to my children or anyone for that matter.  Thanks be to God that he graces me with the restraint to keep me from reacting to every situation the way that the world would have me react, and for being there to explain things the way that only you can.

Prayer:  Thank you Lord for being there to provide for me and my family, not just your Word but everything we have and everything that you are creating us to be.  In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

