Thanks be to God that, as a Gentile, I am called to make my resolution at all…

Standard
Christ the Saviour (Pantokrator), a 6th-centur...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:    Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.
  
Reading:  1 Because of this, I, Paul, a prisoner of Christ 2 (Jesus) for you Gentiles— if, as I suppose, you have heard of the stewardship 3 of God’s grace that was given to me for your benefit, (namely, that) the mystery 4 was made known to me by revelation  (Ephesians 3:1-3a)

Observation:  Yesterday, I made a resolution to always be where God wanted me to be on time, and never be where he doesn’t want me to be anytime.  This morning, I am thankful to God that he decided to even call us Gentiles at all, and allowed me to be in a place to make this resolution, or even more be able to receive the grace necessary to proceed through the day as a Christian.  The gift of Jesus Christ is amazing enough, if it were only meant for the chosen people of Israel, but to think about the gift being for even those that never knew God before is awesome.

Personification:  Joy  As I chose the fruit of joy to focus on this morning, I felt as though I choose joy a lot and maybe I was supposed to choose to focus on the fruit of love instead.  When I think about it though, these two fruits go hand in hand, like all the fruits of the Spirit do, but especially joy and love.  I will make it a point to try to display these two fruits together today and maybe that will give this exercise more staying power, at least for me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be alive in your Spirit today and give me the grace necessary to display joy and love to everyone that I meet.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

