Rome celebrates Epiphany…We have the Thursday after Epiphany?

Standard
Posthumous Recognition and Cause for Canonisat...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  And the victory that conquers the world is our faith.  (1 John 5:4b)

May all kings bow before him, all nations serve him.  (Psalm 72:11)

He said to them, “Today this scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing.” 10  (Luke 4:21)

Observation:  I started my morning  at 3:44am by saying a rosary online at Family Rosary.org and the then send them an update on the workings or the, not so workings, of their interactive rosary, and read the story of Brother Andre‘s life again.  Anyway, my 2-year-old son woke up at about 4:15am to hear my reading of the first reading aloud and singing of the Responsorial Psalm that put him back to sleep.  As the Holy Father said in his homily at the Mass of the Epiphany and I hear from these readings this morning, we should not see ourselves as a rival to God, rather the one that brings victory to us through the faith.

Personification:  Self-Control   Pope Benedict XVI said in his homily, “Perhaps we, too, on occasion, see God as a kind of rival? Perhaps we too are blind to his signs, deaf to his words, because we think they put limits on our lives and do not allow us to dispose of our existence howsoever we will?”  He was speaking in reference to our dislike of Herod because of his resistance to God’s will, but often we act the same way.  I hope that I can display the fruit of self-control in my life and only act in accordance with the will of God in my life, with the knowledge that victory will come from Him.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on the fact that it is only in the times that I act in accordance with your will that I can work in my life toward the final victory that has and is to come to all of your faithful ones.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

