I write these things to you so that you may know that you have eternal life, you who believe in the name of the Son of God. (1 John 5:13)

Standard
~day 17: the Kingdom of God is among you~
Image by theroamincatholic via Flickr

Scripture:  When the men came to him, they said, “John the Baptist has sent us to you to ask, ‘Are you the one who is to come, or should we look for another?'”  (Luke 7:20)

And he said to them in reply, “Go and tell John what you have seen and heard: the blind regain their sight, the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, the poor have the good news proclaimed to them. And blessed is the one who takes no offense at me.” 7  (Luke 7:22-23)

I tell you, among those born of women, no one is greater than John; yet the least in the kingdom of God is greater than he.  (Luke 7:28)

Observation:  I am pretty sure that I journaled on the least in the kingdom is greater than John recently.  However, I am reading this verse this morning in the context of Jesus’ response to the disciples of John who are looking for an answer to their question about if they should continue their search for the one who is to come.  I guess it is difficult for me to understand why they would not already know that Jesus was the Messiah based on the miracles that he was performing all over Judea, and as you can see Jesus says as much in the 22nd and 23rd verses.  I am seeing this morning, the 28th verse as a reminder to them and to all of us that not only should we recognize the miracles that are done in Jesus’ name, but also realize that we have the same power if we belong to the kingdom of God.

Application:  It will be my focus today and for the rest of my life to realize that if I belong to the Kingdom of God and not this world, I should be capable of performing the same miracles that Jesus and his disciples performed and I should be displaying a greater faith in God and his Son by not being scared to display this amazing power that comes from the grace of God through me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of faithfulness in my life and show my brothers and sisters in Christ that there is nothing to fear in being a true disciple of Jesus.  I ask this in the name of your Son, Jesus Holy Name, by the power of the holy Spirit, in the glory of God the Father.  Amen.

3 thoughts on “I write these things to you so that you may know that you have eternal life, you who believe in the name of the Son of God. (1 John 5:13)

  1. Thanks for this post. I also agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so preferably this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

