Have you ever wondered why the saints seem so sinless?

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  We know that no one begotten by God sins; but the one begotten by God he protects, and the evil one cannot touch him.  (1 John 5:18)

He must increase; I must decrease.  (John 3:30)

Observation:  It is clear to me this morning after reading the first reading from the Mass readings for today that God does not see our sinfulness, and if we can see our way to look past it ourselves with God’s eyes, we shall realize the potential that God knows we are capable of.  When I look at the lives of the saints, like Mother Theresa and Saint Andre Bessette, I see sinless creatures whose ability to allow miracles to be worked through them, in the face of such adversity, is only outweighed by their humility.  Which brings me to the verse from the gospel reading for today that tells us the words of John the Baptist that I believe if we are all planning on being saints, we should live by, just like the saints in the past did.

Personification:  Gentleness  In displaying the fruit of gentleness today, I would hope that God’s grace will allow me to show it with all humility.  In the face of all of my past sins, it would be great to see my life with God’s eyes and not my own, so that I can act with all humility in the face of all the miracles that God is working in my life.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to work miracles in my life and in the life of those around me to bring about a greater realization of your Kingdom here on earth, right now.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.







 

One thought on “Have you ever wondered why the saints seem so sinless?

  1. ..Last updated September 11 1998…………On reading this again it is apparent that it also applies to any job it describes a Christian attitude to..work. …Most of us have known someone that worked in the Church and yet displayed a less than Christian attitude in..the midst of it.

Leave a Reply

