Let all his angels worship him. (Psalm 97:7b)

Standard
Children at a Gospel presentation in Eau Clair...

Image via Wikipedia

 
Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

 

Reading: 

And again, when he leads 3 the first-born into the world, he says: “Let all the angels of God worship him.”  (Hebrews 1:6)

Jesus said to them, “Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  (Mark 1:17)

Observation:  It was my intent to journal about how God was saying that worship of his Son was something of an honor, because he said of his angels that they would worship him.  However, after reading the context and the footnotes for first reading, I realized that in the book of Hebrews, the author was retelling this verse from the Psalms to a greater purpose.  This purpose was to show us that he intended the angels to be the cheerleaders and his ministers to be the ones who carry the flame.  As in the next verse, “Of the angels he says: ‘He makes his angels winds and his ministers a fiery flame'”  (Hebrews 1:7)  Therefore, when I went back to read the gospel again, I was left with a completely different understanding of Jesus calling Peter and Andrew.  He was not just calling them, but he was calling all of his disciples to be “fishers of men”.

Personification:  Patience  I know that it is only by the grace of God that I have been able to display the fruit of patience in the past with my immediate family and with my extended family, as well.  However, it will take an even greater amount of grace to be able to display the fruit of patience in ministry as I make some pretty tough decisions for the direction our program will go in the future.  I have been faithful to focus on the day’s evil in the past, because it has been sufficient of an evil to take much of my concentration, but I feel that the youth ministry needs a focus and direction for the future.  We don’t have forever to make a lasting impact of the hope that can be found in the Word of God and in our church, on our young people.

Prayer:  Lord, please give me the grace necessary to be patient with your ministry and allow your work to be done through me and keep me from imposing my will on your work.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “Let all his angels worship him. (Psalm 97:7b)

Leave a Reply

