My faith has been so marginalized, have I lost sight of his mission?

Standard
 
 
Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  Now since the children share in blood and flesh, he likewise shared in them, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and free those who through fear of death had been subject to slavery all their life. (Hebrews 2:14-15)

&

So he went into their synagogues, preaching and driving out demons throughout the whole of Galilee.  (Mark 1:39)

Observation:  After reading the readings for Mass this morning, I was left with a sincere feeling that God is telling me that there is nothing to fear from the power of the devil.  Jesus came down from heaven to take away all of his power.  Whatever happens in the future should not be my concern, because in the moment I know that God has given me the power over evil by sending his Son as an expiation for my sins.  If I could only keep that in mind, I would not allow my faith to be marginalized and I would not lose sight of his mission for me.

Personification:  Self-Control  It will not just be my intention today to act with the fruit of self-control in my life, I will do it with the power of the holy Spirit and the will of the Father backing me up with Jesus being the example of what is possible with complete reliance on God.  Acting with self-control should be like breathing if I remember to rely on the grace that comes from God and nothing that comes from this world.

Prayer:   Lord, help me to see that path to righteousness that follows your Son.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.






Leave a Reply

