The word of God is living and effective…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Indeed, the word of God is living and effective, sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating even between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, and able to discern reflections and thoughts of the heart.  (Hebrews 4:12)

&

Jesus heard this and said to them (that), “Those who are well do not need a physician, 11 but the sick do. I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  (Mark 2:17)

Observation:  I see today that it is only by the recognition that I am nothing more than a sinner, that I can be sure of the fact that Jesus will hang out with me.  If I walk around as some righteous person who is not in need of a Savior, Jesus would not see a need to be around me and I could be in danger of falling into the hands of the enemy.  However, if I am able to constantly remind myself of my need of a Savior, in my recognition of my being a sinner, I can be sure that Jesus will always be with me to protect me from all evil.

Personification:  Peace  I would hope that the simple fact of recognizing that I am a sinner would be enough to allow me to display the fruit of peace in my life.  It is only in the knowledge that comes from the Word of God that allows me to be aware of the grace that flows from true repentance for my past sins.  Of course, I don’t only mean that sins that I committed a long time ago, but rather the ones that I have committed today.

Prayer:  Lord, allow me to always remember my own sinfulness, so you can keep me away from real evil in this world.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “The word of God is living and effective…

Leave a Reply

