Don’t just live simply, simply live God’s way…

Standard

Saint Anthony the Abbot in the Wilderness, ca. 1435

Gift: Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading: Jesus answered them, “Can the wedding guests fast 13 while the bridegroom is with them? As long as they have the bridegroom with them they cannot fast.  (Mark 2:19)

Observation: Today, the church celebrates the feast day of Saint Anthony, Abbot. We recognize that it is not the fact that he gave up all his possessions and committed his sister to a convent and live out his life simply in the desert, but the fact that he did so at the prompting of the Word of God. For me, I think I would do well to act only on the Word that I receive from God and realize that it is only then that I can simply live in a way that is following God’s will for me.

Personification: Patience I will display the fruit of patience by patiently waiting for the Word of God to reveal to me my mission for my day today. I would do well to seek out his guidance in every hour and minute of my day as well. I may, however, have to wait until I find a way to be more connected to the Word than just carry my bible with me at all times to accomplish the second part.

Prayer: Saint Anthony, you spoke of the importance of persevering in our faith and our practice. Help us to wake up each day with new zeal for the Christian
life and a desire to take the next challenge instead of just sitting still. Amen

(The prayer was found at http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=23 )


Leave a Reply

