God’s promise to us never changes…

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  So when God wanted to give the heirs of his promise an even clearer demonstration of the immutability of his purpose, he intervened with an oath, so that by two immutable things, 8 in which it was impossible for God to lie, we who have taken refuge might be strongly encouraged to hold fast to the hope that lies before us.  This we have as an anchor of the soul, sure and firm, which reaches into the interior behind the veil, 9 where Jesus has entered on our behalf as forerunner, becoming high priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.  (Hebrews 6:17-20)

&

Then he said to them, “The sabbath was made for man, 16 not man for the sabbath.  17 That is why the Son of Man is lord even of the sabbath.”  (Mark 2:27-28)

Observation:  As I was reading the first reading for the first time during our Mass at our small chapel this morning, I was confused by the use of the word immutable in the letter to the Hebrews.  I basically missed the rest of the reading, because of the fact that I could not get the word out of my head.  As I read the responsorial psalm, I was still stuck on the use of the word, so I wasn’t reading very well.  Anyway, after the Mass I came back to my office to look up the reading and figure out if I was right to be moved by the word immutable in the way that I was.  It turns out that I was right to be moved by it, as the title of my post for today says, the fact that God’s promise never changes is quite significant.  As for the verse from the Gospel, it continues the theme that the first reading ended with, which is the fact that Jesus is the lord of the sabbath and the one who completes the promise in his life, death and resurrection.

Personification:  Kindness  It is only when I recognize that there is a power greater than me, that I see that it is a worthwhile thing for me to act with the fruit of kindness toward everyone I meet.  The God that I give all glory to, is so faithful to his promise that I can look to him to see the love and kindness that I could be capable of, if only I would accept that his promise is addressed to me, as well as the rest of the world.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to act with kindness toward all of your people and realize the promise that will never change in my life and in our church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.






 

One thought on “God’s promise to us never changes…

Leave a Reply

