Come, Lord Jesus…My head is held high…I’m standing tall…Thanks be to God!

Standard

Scripture:  There will be signs in the sun, the moon, and the stars, and on earth nations will be in dismay, perplexed by the roaring of the sea and the wavesPeople will die of fright in anticipation of what is coming upon the world, for the powers of the heavens 8 will be shakenAnd then they will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great gloryBut when these signs begin to happen, stand erect and raise your heads because your redemption is at hand.”  (Luke 21:25-28)

Observation:  It is my hope that I am not acting with pride that I am standing in anticipation of the return of the Lord.  Of course, if I am, I will expect to be humbled soon.  However, it is my intention to act out of the will of God that I am receiving from the Word of God today and everyday for the rest of my time here on earth.  I will rejoice and be glad in anticipation of his return because I hear him telling me to do so in this reading today and throughout the Word.

Application:  The true application of these verses from the gospel of Luke for me is that I will see the return of the Lord as the beginning of the purest form of his kingdom coming, and not the end of the world as we know it.  The more I act intentionally to make his kingdom present in our place and time, the less negative impact the coming of the Son of Man will have on those people around me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to continue to see the coming of the Son of Man as a gift, by ending the pain from corruption and sin that exist in my human nature.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Prayer: 

Leave a Reply

