His own relatives thought he was crazy…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  8 9 He came home. Again (the) crowd gathered, making it impossible for them even to eat. When his relatives heard of this they set out to seize him, for they said, “He is out of his mind.”  (Mark 3:20-21)

Observation:  When I read this today, I heard that when Jesus went home even his relatives thought he was crazy.  After listening to Father Maro’s homily at Saint Mary’s this morning, I realize better that it was not so much about Jesus being crazy as it was about his family loving him by trying to keep him from putting his health at risk in his ministry.  It says that Jesus and his disciples could not even eat, so it makes sense that his family would try to seize him to save him and he would probably look a little crazy.

Personification:  Love  It is obvious to me, especially this morning, that I need to be focused not only on loving the people who come into my life through ministry, but also recognize the love that comes from my family when they tell me to take some time for myself.  I receive the love of God through the reception of the Eucharist and that gives me all the grace necessary to proceed through my life with the fruit of love clearly displayed for all to see.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to love unconditionally everyone that I come in contact with today and recognize the love that comes from the family that tries to put borders on my ministry.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.






 

Leave a Reply

