Praise God today for Saints Timothy and Titus, and all those sown on rich soil…

Standard

 

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control.  So do not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord  (2 Timothy 1:7-8a)

&

But those sown on rich soil are the ones who hear the word and accept it and bear fruit thirty and sixty and a hundredfold.”  (Mark 4:20)

Observation:  I chose the first reading from the letter to Timothy to journal on because my sister gave me a t-shirt some years ago that had the first verse I chose on it and I thought I would see if she remembers it.  It was one of the first verses of scripture that I memorized because I wanted to be able to tell people what the message was when I wore the shirt, because it had the book, chapter and verse on there, but then it just said super-charged over a picture of an old Pontiac TransAm.  Anyway, it is a powerful verse when seen in the context of the reading today and with the gospel reading for today.  I chose the verse at the end of the gospel reading today because it is the good news, at the end of a difficult parable to hear about our human condition.

Personification:  Self-Control  I guess it could be because of the verse above from Timothy that says that God gives us the power of self-control, but also because I feel like I have lacked in self-control lately, that causes me to want to focus on display this fruit today.  I know it is by the grace of God that I will be able to display self-control in my life, and I know that God’s will is always done, so I have that assurance to know that he will endow me with the fruit of self-control in my life today.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to lift up my family to keep their faces pointed at your light, so we can continue to be nourished by your Word.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

