Go to Mass…Help out your friends…Know that the day is drawing near…

Standard
 

He's coming back!

Gift: Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  We should not stay away from our assembly, 13 as is the custom of some, but encourage one another, and this all the more as you see the day drawing near.  (Hebrews 10:25) 

Observation:  The first reading for Mass this morning is written to a group of Hebrew people that celebrated some form of a Eucharistic celebration.  If I understand the reading correctly, the admonition is to not only continue to go to Mass but also encourage each other and know that the day of Christ’s return is near.  I know this is a reoccurring theme in my blog, but I really feel like it is important that we hear that the early Christians expected Christ’s return in their time, and that is the reason that they acted with a sense of urgency to spread the good news.  I am not saying that we shouldn’t be genuine, but we should hear the words of scripture that tell us to know that the day is near, and act accordingly.

Personification:  Love  Encouragement that comes from the Lord could only be defined as love.  I hope that God will grace me with the ability to share that love with others.  The good news is not meant to be placed under a bushel basket and I hope that by my posting my experience with scripture I am acting out of love for other people who may read it and be encouraged by the Word.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be an encouragement to my family as well as those others that may come in my path today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

He's coming back!

Leave a Reply

