The Kingdom of God is here…Right now…I must have faith to see it…

Standard

Thanks for the pic, Rigo!

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

 

Reading:  For, after just a brief moment, 17 he who is to come shall come; he shall not delay.  (Hebrews 10:37)

&

He said,”This is how it is with the kingdom of God; 6 it is as if a man were to scatter seed on the land and would sleep and rise night and day and the seed would sprout and grow, he knows not howOf its own accord the land yields fruit, first the blade, then the ear, then the full grain in the earAnd when the grain is ripe, he wields the sickle at once, for the harvest has come.”  He said, “To what shall we compare the kingdom of God, or what parable can we use for itIt is like a mustard seed that, when it is sown in the ground, is the smallest of all the seeds on the earth7 But once it is sown, it springs up and becomes the largest of plants and puts forth large branches, so that the birds of the sky can dwell in its shade.” (Mark 4:26-32)

Observation:   The parables had an effect on me this morning.  After reading the first reading and realizing that the one that was to come, that was foretold by the prophets, would not delay, I was looking for the evidence of his coming in my life.  Moreover, I was initially looking for the suffering that was discussed in the beginning of the reading, only to see that it was not the suffering that Jesus wants us to focus on, rather the glory of the Kingdom of God.

Personification:  Generosity  If I could accept  the Kingdom of God has already come in my life, I would give more freely of myself.  This would include my time and my possessions.  It is not that we have a lot of things or that I have a lot of spare time, but I certainly have enough to give some away when the opportunity arises.

Prayer:  Lord, give me the spirit of generosity, so that I can always be looking for opportunities to give more of myself freely to doing your will and bringing more people to an understanding of the good news of Jesus Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

