God chose the foolish to shame the wise…

Standard

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.
 
Reading:  10 Consider your own calling, brothers. Not many of you were wise by human standards, not many were powerful, not many were of noble birth.  (1 Corinthians 1:26)

&

10 Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven.  (Matthew 5:12a)

Observation:  The gospel reading for today ends with the first part of the 12th verse, but the verse continue to say, “Thus they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”  As it says in the footnotes, some people would say that Matthew considered all Christian disciples prophets.  For me, I hear these two readings speaking to me today to remind our young people who are in the church, that it is not an empty calling without any direction and although it will not be an easy road to follow Jesus, it is so worth the reward.  I also hear a reminder that the only wise thing I ever said was that true wisdom comes from God, the Father.

Personification:   Kindness   Yesterday, I wondered if I should see the fruit that I chose to display as a signal of what I was going to able to display, because the fruit I chose was joy and we had a Christian Music Concert to go to last night, it should be easy to display joy.  Anyway, I concluded after last night’s festivities that I should use the fruit that I choose as a reminder of the fruit that I should be displaying throughout the day, because I remember there were times last night that I could have used that reminder.  Today, I choose to focus on the fruit of kindness that comes from the love of God and by the grace that comes to me through the sacraments.

Prayer:  Lord, keep the fruit of kindness on my mind today so that no matter what situation presents itself, I am ready to meet it with the spirit of kindness that you showed me how to display from your life in Christ on earth.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

