Thank you Jesus, for suffering to help me…Come awake!

Standard
  

Gift:  Understanding– With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.  

Reading:  Now since the children share in blood and flesh, he likewise shared in them, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and free those who through fear of death had been subject to slavery all their life.  Because he himself was tested through what he suffered, he is able to help those who are being tested.  (Hebrews 3:14-15,18)

Observation:  I was interrupted in my journaling this morning, because of some issues my wife and I had to clear up at our oldest son’s Middle School.  Anyway, God is good and the issue is handled and I got to meet an amazing Catholic Vice-Principal at my son’s school.  As for the reading, when I met with the “Young Faith” group today for lunch, guess what verse they picked to discuss…I didn’t even realize it until I got back to my journal to finish my post.  The reading stands alone and I will talk about how I feel I am going to personify some fruit of the Spirit to explain further how this reading is speaking to me.  (I added the video Wednesday morning after hearing the song on the way to the office this morning.)

Personification:  Joy  It is amazing to me how much joy that I feel like displaying when I realize how much God did for me by sending his Son into the world to become like me.  The knowledge that I have that the devil has no power over me, because of the sacrifice that Jesus made for me, is awesome.  The suffering that I may suffer today will only be an opportunity to share the joy that comes from God when his grace finally removes my suffering.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on you while I struggle through this life and display the real joy that comes from the grace of God.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Related Articles

God WITH Us! (smoodock45.wordpress.com)

Church Doctrine = “We are good, they are bad.” = The root of war (lambanddragon.wordpress.com) 

Leave a Reply

